Rosberg does the double at Monaco

Nico Rosberg won the Monaco Grand Prix for the second year in succession, as Mercedes finished first and second for the fifth consecutive race.

Rosberg’s second triumph of the season sees the German return to first place in the drivers’ standings.

The German’s team-mate, Lewis Hamilton – victor at the past four events, was running a second adrift Rosberg during the middle phase of the race, before fading late, having complained of debris getting in his eye, holding off Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo for second place.

Fernando Alonso came home fourth without featuring prominently, retaining third place in the standings, whilst Nico Hulkenberg continued his strong campaign with fifth place.

McLaren duo Jenson Button bagged some much needed points with sixth, Felipe Massa had an anonymous afternoon to finish seventh, whilst Romain Grosjean continued Lotus’ resurgence with eighth place.

But the biggest surprise was Jules Bianchi gifting Marussia their first points at their eighty third attempt, crossing the line eighth, albeit demoted to ninth after a five-second penalty was imposed.

Kevin Magnussen claimed the final point in tenth place.

Marcus Ericcson fell just shy of likewise granting Caterham their long awaited first points in eleventh, whilst an unlucky Kimi Raikkonen was left to rue a puncture after contact with Max Chilton, having ran as high as third during the early stages after a great start.

Kamui Kobayashi and Chilton were the last of the finishers, in a race of unusually high attrition in this era with eight non-finishers.

Four-time champion Sebastian Vettel had an early bath with power loss not dissimilar to his demise at the season opening Australian Grand Prix seeing the German retire on lap six.

Rosberg is now four points clear of Hamilton in the standings, with Alonso maintaining a distant third. Ricciardo jumps to fourth, with Hulkenberg also usurping Vettel into fifth.

The next race sees the circus cross the Atlantic, with the Canadian Grand Prix at Montreal in a fortnight, another circuit where Mercedes will look to continue their dominance.


1. Nico Rosberg

2. Lewis Hamilton

3. Daniel Ricciardo

4. Fernando Alonso

5. Nico Hulkenberg

6. Jenson Button

7. Felipe Massa

8. Romain Grosjean

9. Jules Bianchi

10. Kevin Magnussen


1. Rosberg 122

2. Hamilton 118

3. Alonso 61

4. Ricciardo 54

5. Hulkenberg 47

6. Vettel 45


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s